Year 4 

Teacher: Mrs N Radford
Teaching Assistants: Mrs J Wye, Mrs S Cogley (HNF) 3 days

Topic

Topic sees Year 4 stepping back in time to visit the ancient civilisation of The Maya, in Mexico. The children learn all about their art, ceremonies and how The Maya wrote and recorded their daily lives. They will make a ceremonial or death mask, find out what their name looks like by writing in hieroglyphs and create some authentic Maya pottery. Once they have all this knowledge, they are visited by Mexicolor for a Mayan themed day.

English

In English the children are looking at diaries, stories from other cultures and writing factual news stories. Through this they will learn how to build fronted adverbials and complex sentences into their writing.

Maths

In Maths we are tackling tricky fractions. The children will see the progression of equivalent, simplifying, adding and subtracting fractions and turning improper fractions to mixed numbers.

PE

PE throughout the term looks at gymnastics.

Latest News

World Book Day 2019

On Thursday 07th March we had lots of fun celebrating World Book Day, where both children and staff dressed up as their favourite book characters. A real love of books and the awe and wonder that … More >

Mexicolore - Year 3 & Year 4

On the last day of term, the children from Year 3 and 4 were visited by Mexicolore who taught the children all about Mayan culture. They learned first hand about Mayan dress, music, sports and food. … More >

Snow Fun

Reception class had lots of fun in the snow today in their outside learning area. The children watched how to build a snowman on the interactive whiteboard and then went outside, carefully following … More >

VIEW ALL LATEST NEWS >

Important Dates

Tuesday 19th March
Parents Consultation Evening
Thursday 21 March
Parents' Consultation Evening
Wednesday 27th March
Year 1 Class Assembly
Thursday 4th April
Easter Service 9am and FOHPS Easter Egg hunt
Monday 6th May
Bank Holiday Monday
Saturday 8th June
School Fete
Wednesday 19th June
KS1 Sports Afternoon
Thursday 18th July
Year 6 Production 1 30pm and 6pm
Friday 19th July
Year 6 Assembly
Friday 19th July
End of Term
Monday 22nd July
Staff Inset Day
Tuesday 23rd July
Staff Inset Day

VIEW ALL Important Dates >

OFSTED REPORT

Read our latest Ofsted report.

Ofsted report >